Project: Slow

What is this project about?

We are living in a world that gets faster every day. Not that I don’t like our fast moving, information rich world, but I believe as we move into the cities and get disconnected from the land, many of us forget how things take time in nature. This is why I want to explore what it means to slow down in urban life and can we actually do that?

So, with this project, I am hoping to create tools or spaces that will empower and inspire people to embrace slower processes in life.

slow-01

How are you going to do that?

Well, I actually don’t know yet : ) But I know that I want the outcome to create conversations, question the existing ways and inspire people. Throughout the project I aim to take interaction design as my main vehicle and explore methodologies from slow design, slow technology and co-design to see what the process will gain from this collaboration.
slow-02

What is slow?

As Carlo Petrini, founder of the Slow Food movement, puts:

“Being Slow means that you control the rhythms of your own life. You decide how fast you have to go in any given context. If today I want to go fast, I go fast; if tomorrow I want to go slow, I go slow. What we are fighting for is the right to determine our tempos.”

Leave a Reply

