Council

DSC03433

Today with a few classmates, we had a small circle council about design processes. For those who don’t know what council is I have a small definition:

Council is an old method of space creating for people to freely introduce their thoughts and feelings on a subject. The participants sit in a circle for everyone to have an equal position and a talking object is introduced to the group, so only the person with the talking object can speak. This provides a free space for that person to go deeper in his/her explanation but at the same time allows for other people to build on the subject. The Way of Council.reGeneration.

I discovered this method during my time in Turkey, for effective communication to build communities, especially after the revolt movement created a need for an equal base for vocalizing opinions. Here are what came out of our little session:

  • “It takes a long time to figure out what design is and you need to fail a lot to learn from it.”
  • “Design process is messy and there are times when you thing “oh shit, what will I do” but it somehow turns out okay.”
  • “You need to have a good reason to put time into making a prototype. You need to know the “why”. It is so not simple and so not repetitive. Depends on the process and project.”
  • “There will be ups and downs, it’s inevitable. You know you’re going to fail but view it as an opportunity to grow, since it is hard to progress as a designer without failing.”
  • Letting go and discovering your own methods of working.
  • “You need to explain the reasons behind your decisions. You need to reflect on your perspective and thought.”
  • “I’m overwhelmed with all the ideas I have and I am afraid to select the simple ones. Cause when I pick the simple thing people may think that I may not think more complex. Using the process to show intellect or to convince people that I am a good problem solver but it is not just about that!”
  • “I always dependent on others to validate my ideas before I moved on. Freelancing benefitted me, being on my own and having no one in the same sphere helped me to trust my own ideas. Even though I’m confident on my decisions questioning the decisions from the feedback of others is important for me.”
Leave a Reply

